Vegan Baileys? Not so fast

Baileys AlmandeVegans across the Internet were buzzing yesterday with news that Baileys, everybody’s favourite Irish whiskey cream, is launching a vegan version.

Ads for Baileys Almande, made with almond milk and vanilla, boast that it contains no dairy and is gluten-free. So why didn’t Diageo, the multinational alcoholic beverage company that owns Baileys, go a step further and declare it vegan?

“We currently do not test our products at this time to claim that they are Vegan,” wrote Sam, a Baileys representative, in an email. “However we do track if a product contains milk, eggs or fish/shellfish on our website.”

But since the product is not available (in Canada at least) until June, “this product is not listed on the above website yet as it is not available at the current time,” Sam added.

So don’t go celebrating with a splash of Baileys Almande in your coffee just yet.

Advertisements

One thought on “Vegan Baileys? Not so fast

  1. Pingback: ‘Vegan’ Baileys: the plot thickens |

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s